top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Shane McMahon Comments On Why He Left The WWE In 2009 & The Undertaker Calling Him To Return


Photo: WWE.com

On a recent episode of WWE's 'After the Bell' Podcast with Corey Graves, WWE Executive Shane McMahon talked RAW Underground, as well as a number of noteworthy topics. Here are a few of note.


McMahon comments on why he left the WWE in 2009.


"Very difficult. It's one of those things where you have, you can call it, 'the cocoon' if you will for your whole life," McMahon said. "Again, having the most unbelievable education, [as] you were talking about earlier, sitting next to great minds such as Pat Patterson, guys like Michael Hayes etc. Having so many business people come through there for marketing and promotion and what have you and business development, consumer products you learn so much from everybody that's come through those doors. I have, again, had such a fortunate education in multiple facets.


"So it's like I've had 15 different jobs over the tenure of my career, and you learn so much, whether I was working inside the company having to be all under one umbrella. So taking that knowledge, wanted to go outside for a little while. Also, it was very important for me and one of the one of the bigger driving factors was, I have three boys and make sure that I was their life a little bit. I wanted more time with them, and my leave allowed me to invest time, which is the most valuable commodity as you're aware. Everything is so demanding, your time is so demanding. So I was I was able to coach all my son's peewee football, until they got to high school.


"Thoroughly being in their lives, just being around a whole lot. Seeing a lot of them was one of the driving forces for me doing so as well as immersing myself into businesses that I wanted to do and testing myself. How would I fair outside 'the cocoon' and do something completely different, you know, take those skill sets and get involved with multiple multiple businesses. Do some investing. Do some things like that that I've always had the affinity to do and go for it."


McMahon comments on The Undertaker, and how he called McMahon to request a match between the two at Hell in a Cell in Texas.


"Taker need an opponent for WrestleMania and needed to be special, and there was talks even back then," Shane stated. "In Texas, where Undertaker's from [and] WrestleMania, that magnitude of a hundred thousand people that set the indoor attendance record, that was going to be an awesome way out. I really thought it may be, again, a one and done. So I got the call from Taker saying, 'hey, would you ever consider this? I was like, 'huh, well, let me think about it.' About 10 minutes later, I get a call from my dad. He's like, 'well, congratulations. This is what we're doing. What do you think?' I was like, it doesn't sound like I'm thinking much. In typical Vince fashion, he's like, 'we want you to think about this.' I was like alright and then really started coming up with the creative.


"I said well, if it's gonna be what I think it's going to be, than can we do Hell in a Cell? Can we do this and we have to make sure the storyline more than anything is right. Otherwise, it's just a mash, so why are you emotionally, this is one thing, again going back to what I've learned throughout the years, in any match I've ever ever done, I've always had some crazy stuff that happens from time to time, but it's really the emotional story of why. What got us there and what you do telling the physical story once you're in the match"


Transcription Credit c/o WrestlingInc.com


Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


70 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page