top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Ric Flair Comments On SummerSlam 1988, Vince Letting His Hair Grow Back

Updated: Mar 24, 2021


Photo: WWE.com

WWE Hall of Famer and multiple time world champion Ric Flair was a recent guest on the WrestlingInc Daily Podcast and host Raj Giri and Ric spoke on a number of noteworthy topics. A few of note was Flair's thoughts on main eventing SummerSlam 1988, when the initial plan was to bring him to the WWF from WCW.


"All right up to where I had a couple days to make up my mind. When it came right down to it, I just couldn't give myself to leave," Flair admitted. "Here's my problem, we're going to talk about stuff that has effected my life. The thing with the Crockett's and me being so close to Jimmy, this is right before the sale, I could see things falling apart, but I was so attached to Arn, Tully, Barry and Jay that even though I saw things falling apart a little bit with Jimmy opening an office in Dallas, and their talking about making movies, anybody could do the math.


"We weren't drawing west of the Mississippi like we did when we first went out there because the saturation with TBS at that time wasn't nearly like it is now. If we had stayed east of Chicago, then they still might be in business. I could see the problems, but I just couldn't get myself to leave my friends. It's not that I didn't have friends up there because you know DiBiase and all those guys were there.


"I was friends with all of them, but The Four Horsemen thing was just something that was so unique, and the fact that it's still held in such high regard today, you had to be there during that time frame. We were The Beatles and then to be there with the Road Warriors and Lex [Luger] and Sting and Dusty. It was a lot for me to decide, and I probably cost myself a fortune by staying, but I look back at it now and here I am talking to you today."


Flair also spoke on while in WCW under the reigns of Jim Herd, he had to cut his hair. But once Flair jumped to the WWF, Vince McMahon allowed Flair to let his signature blonde hair grow longer.


"Yes, he said, 'I want Ric Flair's best,' but I said, 'well can't grow back right away,' and it never got back to where it was," Flair revealed. "There was no guarantees then. He said, 'I'll shake your hand. You're going to make more.' The joke is, 'well, do I get a guaranteed contract?' He said, 'no, I'll give you the opportunity,' and that's what he's done."


Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


39 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page