top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Mark Henry Talks On A First Encounter With A 'Disrespectful' Michael Jordan

Updated: Aug 14, 2020


Photo: WWE.com

In a recent interview with 247Sports, WWE Hall of Famer Mark Henry opened up about a salty encounter with NBA Hall of Famer and multiple time NBA Champion Michael "Air" Jordan. Henry met Jordan at the 1992 Summer Olympic Games, when Henry was on the powerlifting team and Jordan was on the 'Dream Team'. and Henry claimed that the way Jordan first greeted him was a "slap in the face".

"During that time, I went to the hotel just because I wanted to see people that I knew," [Charles] Barkley being one of those people, and David Robinson and Karl Malone. "You would think in a perfect world that when somebody walks up on a group of people, they would just greet everybody, 'Hey, guys. How you all doing? What’s going on?' and go from there."

"Well, when Michael walked up, that wasn’t the case. I guess I seemed out of place. And his response to me was, ‘Who are you?’ And I was like, ‘Who the hell are you?’"You know, I started to get a little bit angry because I was not expecting that."

"It was like a slap in the face. It’s like someone walking up and just slapping you. I was in shock. I was like this is Michael Jordan. And I’m angry, like, "Why? Why? What the hell?"

Henry went on to say that Jordan allegedly backed off from any further escalation from the situation and he did comment that Jordan later apologized and invited him to an NBA All Star Game and Jordan's Birthday Party a few years later.

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


9 views0 comments
bottom of page