top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Sonya Deville Opens Up About Coming Out As A Gay Wrestler, How Rough It Was On Social Media...

Updated: Aug 14, 2020


Photo: uproxx.com

In a recent interview with Maria Menounos' 'Better Together' Show, WWE Star Sonya Deville opened up on a number of topics. Here are some highlights.

SONYA’S PLAY-BY-PLAY COMING OUT AS GAY ON NATIONAL TV

“That was the craziest thing ever…it was such a weird time in my life. I’m 21 years old the time, I’m on a reality television show that’s being broadcast live internationally, and the first question I’m asked in the interview portion of the show is, “are you in a relationship?”…that’s such an easy question. But for me, it was this loaded question with such a complex back end. I wasn’t openly gay yet but I did have a girlfriend at the time. I remember thinking, “OK, do I lie, and my girlfriend will kill me because I”m now saying I”m single on a Reality TV show, or do I tell the truth, and now the entire world knows I’m gay? And out her, because she wasn’t even out to her parents. Nobody.” I just told the truth, and was like, “yeah, I have a girlfriend.” And I kind of, like, smiled. And Triple H was like, did you just come out on National Television? And I was like, “yeah, I think did.”

SONYA ON HER EARLY DAYS AS A GAY WRESTLER: “SOCIAL MEDIA WAS ROUGH.”

“At first it was super daunting. Um, I remember coming out and being like, OK, what does this mean. How do I feel, and I remember not being able to assess my emotions at first. I’m happy, because I feel free. There was a weight lifted off my shoulder, but on the same token, I remember, um, social media back then being a little rough…a lot of people were jumping to judgments and conclusions, and I was very young and easily influenced at the time. It was definitely hard at first, but looking back at the kind of last five years of my life and realizing that not only am I more comfortable with myself than I ever been, because of almost being forced to live my truth, but watching my younger fans be inspired by it, it means the world to me. Now, obviously I’m in a place where I’m proud of my sexuality, and it doesn’t. I want to be the voice for people who don’t have a voice."

ON FIRE/DESIRE FEUD: SONYA CLAIMS "MOST GENUINE" WWE FEUD IN LONG TIME; DOESN'T CARE IF FANS LOVE OR HATE.

"The only thing that’s been important to Mandy and Me throughout this entire thing is that we keep it authentic. We make it something that the fans- whether they love Mandy or hate Mandy, they love me or hate me - we don’t care. We just want them to feel something. I think at the end of the day, that’s what most performers want. I’m saying my truth, Mandy’s saying her truth, and we’re both completely entitled to do so, and it’s up to you guys whose truth you side with! Love me or hate me, I think it’s one of the most genuine story-lines WWE has done in a long time. It’s super rewarding."

DO FIRE AND DESIRE HAVE A TAG TEAM TITLE IN THEIR FUTURE?

“No honey. I spent five years living in her shadow being second fiddle. It is my time to be the Goddamn star, right now, and Mandy Rose is going to have to sit back seat. No one wants a reality check in the form of being second best.”

MANDY ROSE CRASHES SONYA’S INTERVIEW WITH PRANK CALL; REFERENCES SONYA'S MMA CAREER, INCLUDING HER FINAL MATCH AND DEFEAT!

During Maria/Sonya interview, a rogue caller joined the conversation to repeatedly denounce Sonya’s former MMA career.

She asked, “Why did you get your ass kicked in your last MMA fight? Were you not tough enough?

Sonya INSISTED that the caller was Mandy…

SONYA SAYS MARIA MENOUNOS AND HUSBAND KEVEN UNDERGARO ARE "THE MOST GIVING PEOPLE [SHE'S} EVER MET!"; SAYS CAREER START AT AFTERBUZZ WAS VITAL TO HER SUCCESS.

"Every Sunday, I would spend 4-5 hours at AfterBuzz studios in the valley, hosting for Maria & Keven's network…Maria and Kevin did something where they offered all the hosts the opportunity to pitch a creative idea to them. I’ll never forget, Keven came up to me the next time I was at AfterBuzz and said, ‘Me and Maria really like you,” and I didn’t believe him!…You and Kev called me and put me on a competition show, reality series. Fast forward five years, from that, and I’m here living my dream career!"

Later, she elaborated, “Knowing when to shut and listen is so important, and has been vital to my experience and my success with you guys, because you obviously are the most giving people I’ve ever met. Hence why I met you and Keven, I thought you were completely full of craft. I was like, ‘why do these people want to just help me? What’s the catch?’…I’m really grateful for all of the listens you all have taught me and continue to teach me."

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page