top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Former WWE Women's Champion Jazz Talks AEW & Possible Retirement

Updated: Aug 14, 2020


Photo: WWE.com

Former WWE Women's Champion Jazz spoke with Women's Wrestling Weekly in a recent interview. Here are some highlights. 

JAZZ SHARES COMMENTS ON HER RECENT INVOLVEMENT IN AEW AND WHAT’S NEXT FOR HER "There really been no discussions as far as that goes. But not there’ s been no contract signed, Everyone’s has been asking me that. There isn’t a contract signed Honestly you know I’m coming to and end as far my in-ring work. It’s coming to an end. I just turned 47 in August. It’s time for me to say, it’s enough. So right now I’m a trainer at a wrestling school, Hybrid School of Wrestling. I love being a coach and that’s what I would love to do. I love to give back. If I sign anything, it would most definitely be me being a trainer or coach. That’s my passion right now. That's what I want to do." JAZZ TEASES IF SHE WILL CHALLENGE OF THE NWA CHAMPIONSHIP ONE MORE TIME

"I’m at the end so you never know. I may do one more big thing before I hang up the boots for sure. I don’t know yet." JAZZ SHARES ADVICE AS SHE TRAINS THE NEXT GENERATION OF WRESTLING

"The game has never really changed as far as you get into the business. Of course, you have to find a productive school and credible trainers. What I like to tell al the girls these days coming in and still coming in is try to protect yourself and stop trying to do all of these crazy moves. They look at me and youv’e been in the game for 20 plus years, Yes but I didn’t do anything stupid to jeapoardize my career, jeaopardize my body. What I’ve learned over the years is that this business loves you when you’re in it but the moment you kind of step away sometimes you’re forgotten about...I like to tell the girls to really be smart about what you do inside the ring." JAZZ TALKS ABOUT HER MOST RECENT APPEARANCE ON AEW

"It was so great, oh my god, coming down that ramp and see those fans. It was such an adrenaline rush. I came out with a different look, alot of people hadn’t seen the bald, so it was something different. Brandi Rhodes reached out to me and she asked if I was under contract with anyone like NWA as of right now and I said no I’m not. She said cool, we wanted to see if you’re interested in being apart of our Battle Royal. I was like, yeah, who would say no, first of all. That’s how it happened. They brought me in to do the vignette and the whole time I was thinking what could I do that would be like “BAM” oh yeah she’s back…. It was pretty nice, pretty cool. Everyone was there was overwhelmingly nice and making everyone feel welcome…. They made everyone feel at home and very comfortable. That’s one thing I loved about AEW." JAZZ SHARES HOW SHE HAS KEPT HER BRAND FRESH OVER THE YEARS

"Well I always try to be different. My different is so different that I try to not doing anything that someone else is doing in the ring. That’s hard because I mean wrestling is wrestling and everyone duplicates moves. I’m still the same Jazz you saw in WWE 15 or 18 years ago. I”m still that person. Nothing has changed about me.My style is what I bring to the table, my style. It’s totally different than everyone else." JAZZ TALKS ABOUT HER INSPIRING FANS AND BREAKING DOWN BARRIERS "Everyone always come up and tell me, these young girls, they are so inspired by me because I’m one that kind of started in the late 90’s and to still be in the industry and still be relevant for so many years even though I dip in and out…. When I dip in, I’m coming back just like I left like I’ve never been out of the game or out of the ring. So to have the ladies tell me that I’m such an inspiration that I’m the reason they wanted to wrestle, I’ve broken down so many barriers especially being a woman of color. Back in the 90’s there weren’t that many, that alone is an accomplishment… there are so many women nowadays in the industry and they are so good. That’s what I’m loving about this industry right now because women are really really making a statement, and were showing that we’ve been belonging in this business we should have always been on the top. It’s a great feeling." JAZZ SHARES HER THOUGHTS ON THE WOMEN’S REVOLUTION

"Keep giving us opportunities and main event and big shows. Manias! When I was in WWE, our ratings were really good when we were doing women’s matches. Unfortunately they weren’t happy with that. It’s a new day and time a new era and now we are getting the opportunity to be number one. We are getting the opportunity to show that we can main event. So kudos to all of the women in the industry. And girls thank you all for continuing to show respect and to earn their respect… Sometimes I’m speechless because of it... since it’s come so far from where it used to be... we’ve crossed over that barrier and we are kicking ass."


Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page