top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Kurt Angle Comments On How Ric Flair Saved Him From A Possibly Dismal Career In WCW

Updated: Aug 14, 2020


Photo: WWE.com

In a recent interview with Newsday, former multiple time world champion and Olympic Gold Medalist Kurt Angle talked on how "The Nature Boy" Ric Flair saved him from a possibly less than stellar career in WCW. Flair had apparently told Angle to make a move for the WWE, even though Flair was employed with WCW.

"Ric was the guy that I got advice from before I started in the business. He’s the one that redirected me from [World Championship Wrestling] to WWE, told me Vince McMahon would know what to do with me, and said not to go to WCW.”

Angle commented on what he learned from Flair, that helped him with his own career in the WWE.

"What I learned from Ric was how to give to the business and not take. He always made sure his opponent looked better than he did. What was important to him was the match, not himself, and I took that advice and made sure when I performed in the ring I made my opponent looked better than me, and I made sure it was the best match I could possibly make it. He was a very giving wrestler, and I did the same because of Ric Flair.”

Flair's advice did seem to work well for Angle, as he became an overnight sensation a legend and a hall of famer in the WWE.

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page