top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Former WWE Creative Writer Wanted To Retire The Undertaker In The Early 2000s?

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: WWE.com

From his Official Twitter Account, company executive Michael "P.S." Hayes, made a claim that former WWE & WCW Creative Writer Vince Russo wanted to retire The Undertaker, when Russo returned to the company in the early 2000s (2002 more specifically). Hayes backed up his statement by specifically mentioning two fellow WWE Creative Team Members; Paul Heyman and Brian Gerwitz.

"If U don't believe me, ask Heyman and Gerwirtz!!! I'm not lying. Russo wanted to retire Taker, I made more money with Taker after that! True"

There could be some truth to what Hayes is saying. On an episode of his own podcast in 2016, Vince Russo commented that The Undertaker wasn't particularly fond of Russo, when the two worked together.

"I found out through Terry Taylor that I had a little bit of heat with Taker. Terry said to me 'he told me he always asked him to work when he was hurt. You used to expect him to work when he was hurt.' That really hurt me, I respected the Undertaker more than anyone else. I would never in my wildest dreams ask somebody to work a match if they were hurt. I said 'with all due respect, Taker never told me he was hurt."

Luckily, The Undertaker didn't retire during that time and some of his greatest matches in his iconic career happened years down the road.

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


10 views0 comments
bottom of page