top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Steve Austin Revealed Stunt During The Attitude Era That Nearly Cost Him His Life

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: WWE.com

It's not a big secret that "Stone Cold" Steve Austin was one of, if not the biggest factor of the WWE's success during the Attitude Era in the late 90s and he's done some outrageous stunts both in the ring, and backstage to get those massive ratings for the WWE. In a recent episode of the Steve Austin Show, Austin revealed the one stunt during the Attitude Era that nearly cost him his life.

The said stunt, was Austin behind the wheel of a massive "Stone Cold 3:16" Monster Truck that he used to obliterate The Rock's car and a limo, that were both parked inside the arena during an episode of RAW. Austin gets into more detail about the risky stunt with the monster truck.

“Well hell, I didn’t know how to drive a monster truck. So there I was in the parking lot, driving the Austin 3:16 monster truck. It was a bad ass dodge with an alcohol/methanol motor and about 1800 horsepower. Anyway, I learn to drive the monster truck after about 15-20 minutes in the parking lot. The thing about me I can drive anything in about fifteen minutes. Don’t give a shit what it is, I can drive it.”

“So I go into the back door of the arena and I’m in a holding room with a couple of curtains in front of me. The monster truck was loud as fuck and that 1800 horsepower motor is churning out exhaust fumes. So I’m in this room and they shut the door behind me. It was about a three minutes commercial break, so the whole time the people back home are watching commercials, I’m in a room, inside a truck, breathing methanol/alcohol fumes — I could barely breathe. I was just begging for the show to come back on air so I could charge out in the audience and get a breath of fresh air. I’m breathing all those exhaust fumes, motherfucker, I was going to crash that gate doing 98 [miles per hour] and go and take my own cue and haul ass into the arena, if they hadn’t of cued me when they did — I was about to die.”

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page