top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Former WWE Official Comments On Montreal Screw Job, If He'll Ever Be Inducted To The WWE Hall Of

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: IMPACTWrestling.com

In a recent interview with The Two Man Power Trip of Wrestling, former WWE Official Earl Hebner commented on some interesting topics, here are some highlights.

Hebner commented on the infamous 'Montreal Screw Job' in 1997, specifically pointing the finger at WWE CEO Vince McMahon.

“Whenever I’m around Bret I don’t bring them and truthfully Vince screwed Bret. Earl didn’t screw Bret, Vince screwed Bret. Earl did what he had to do. It was his (Vince’s) command and that is what happened but I think most Americans understand but I don’t think any Canadians will ever forgive me but I hope that they do. If you look at my track record, I’ve been put in a lot of tough spots in my career. Where other referees would not volunteer, Vince knew what I would do and whatever his demands were is what I did. So you can’t put the blame on me, you’ve got to put it on him.”

Hebner commented on if he thinks he'll ever be inducted to the WWE Hall of Fame.

“It an honor and since I’ll probably never go into the WWE Hall of Fame because we still have problems down the road and it doesn’t really matter to me whether I do or I don’t, anybody that knows me will know who I am. If Vince doesn’t ever want to induct me into it that is fine. I really think I should be but the problems that we still have, it is what it is. If I never get in there that is fine and it is no problem to me but people know who I am and I’ll let it be my legend of being a Hebner and I’ll just base it on that.”

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page