top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Samoa Joe Comments On Meeting Vince McMahon In The Future, Working With Brock Lesnar...

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: WWE.com

In a recent interview on Chris Jericho's 'Talk is Jericho' Podcast, former TNA World Champion & current WWE Superstar Samoa Joe spoke on a number of interesting topics, here are a few of note.

Joe comments on Vince McMahon and what he's heard about initial meetings with the CEO of the WWE.

"We haven't really had a sit-down meeting. We talk in passing and like I'm not big on like having real long, drawn out conversations and I guess that's to my detriment. I'll show up and be like, 'hey, what do we need? Alright, cool.' I'm out the door. Let's go get it done. I heard, if you do have a meeting, nine times out of 10 it's not a good thing!"

Joe speaks on Brock Lesnar and how he would like to work with him in a potential future match.

"Absolutely. I think, and I've stated it a lot, I think it's something the fans want to see and I'd definitely like to get into it with Brock. He's very intense. It has got to be believable. I think that's part of it too."

Joe shares his thoughts on the WWE keeping him, Shinsuke Nakamura and Finn Balor in NXT longer than initially anticipated.

"I want to say almost close to two years. Yeah, yeah, yeah, but I think a part of that too was about driving the brand. And I think that was kind of the issue with myself, Finn, and Nakamura. We were kind of these mainstays, it was a touring brand at this point, and it was like I felt kind of needed us, Bayley, is another consummate player, just it was kind of what people showed up and paid to see."

"NXT is at a level now where it is a third touring brand within the WWE spectrum and you have to now produce talent that have the risk of being gone. I liken it to a Ring Of Honor or an ECW where it's like you'd build these huge stars, but eventually opportunity comes calling and now you have to start from scratch." Although going to the main roster became an "unspoken thing" for the SoCal native, he was told to get ready for the jump at NXT TakeOver: Toronto and got the game plan for his debut over Royal Rumble weekend.

"I think at a certain point it became kind of an unspoken thing. And then, I remember, I want to say, going probably after Toronto [Canada], NXT TakeOver: Toronto, it was mentioned to me, 'hey, listen, there [are] probably going to be some opportunities for you elsewhere… so be ready. And I really didn't learn about the debut until the day before the Rumble. Then, the plan was kind of laid out to me."

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page