top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Interview With Terra Calaway, Indy Wrestling Sensation & First Ever LuchaPro Women's Champion

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: divadirt.com

Welcome back wrestling fans to another fantastic interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout. In this edition I had the pleasure to speak with the "Sin City Siren" Terra Calaway, who was a former WILD North American Champion and first ever LuchaPro Women's Champion. Terra has been wrestling since 2008, and has competed for some of the top independent promotions in the United States such as; NWA Hollywood, LuchaPro, Vendetta Pro Wrestling, Vegas Championship Wrestling and many more. Terra's chiseled skills in the ring catapulted her to the pro wrestling public eye and as a result she locked up with former WWE & TNA Superstar Winter (Katie Lee Burchill.) I spoke with Terra on her thoughts on becoming the 1st ever LuchaPro Women's Champion, the current state of women's professional wrestling, which women pro wrestlers she would love to get in the ring with and more. Richard: For wrestling fans that might not know what you are involved within the world of professional wrestling, can you just give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of Terra Calaway? Terra: Of course. Starting off my year with some fun ones. December 12th, I'll be causing some havoc at Adrenaline Unleashed in Vegas. December 13th in Indio, CA I'll be at AOW that is featuring all three members of MNM. The 18th and 19th I'll be making my NorCal debut for Fighting Spirit Pro and Gold Rush Pro Wrestling. I also have a few photo-shoots in between too. It's going to be a fun January. Richard: When was the exact moment when you decided you wanted to be a professional wrestler? Terra: I was introduced to wrestling when I was 18. December 2008 to be exact. I immediately felt an attraction and immediately knew it was what I needed to do. March 2009, I was in training. Richard: What was it like working for Vegas Championship Wrestling? Terra: It was an amazing experience. Actually, a little too amazing because when I got thrown into the outside world of wrestling I realized how harsh it really could be. My trainers (Legacy, Tony Leo, and Funny Bone) were all so great in their own ways and all stuck with me even when I wanted to throw in the towel. Richard: In your career you have accomplished great success, what was going through your mind when you became the very first LuchaPro Women's Champion? Terra: It was a great feeling. Winning your first championship is always a huge deal. However, what I absolutely love the most is that with that title I got to feud with Mariah Moreno (Then known as Amanda) who quickly became my favorite opponent and one of the greatest people I know. Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically, in your opinion do you think it's better or has the change hurt the product overall? Terra: I think the women's wrestling on TV hasn't really gone well, however the Indy scene is ridiculously amazing with it's women's wrestling and fans that are so, so supportive. Richard: In your opinion what do you think of promotions like the WWE and TNA making women's wrestling more sex appeal rather than actual pro wrestling? Terra: I'm not happy with what WWE does with their women, especially when they have great women that they don't do anything with. TNA has been roller coasting with their women, but they have a solid division and give them better times and let them do what they do best. Richard: Would you work for any of the big three pro wrestling promotions if given the opportunity; WWE, TNA, or ROH? Terra: I'd love to work for TNA or ROH. Actually, my top two "dream promotions" are TNA and Chikara. Any opportunity is a good one and I'm so ready. Richard: Who was the number one female pro wrestler that inspired you to get into the business? if you had one that is. Terra: Victoria. (TNA's Tara) Richard: What are your long term goals in terms of your career in professional wrestling? Terra: I want to travel. Even if I never make it to one of the big promotions, I'll be happy doing what I love all over the world. Richard: What female wrestlers either past or present would you most love to work with in the ring? Terra: Victoria, Madison Eagles, Serena Deeb, Awesome Kong, and a re-match with Winter (Katie Lea). Fans can follow Terra on Twitter @TerraCalaway on Facebook, and her Official YouTube Channel. I want to personally thank Terra Calaway for speaking taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


13 views0 comments
bottom of page