top of page
  • By Anthony Cox, Kayfabe Kickout Senior Columnist

Trix Are For Kids


READ: Before you read this column, I truly want you to look at the picture that accompanied this column. It’s Heath Slater being pummeled by some guy dressed in a bunny outfit. Really doe! When I was watching Raw earlier this week, I joked on Facebook that Adam Rose’s Bunny might eventually win the US Title. Well it looks like that Bunny has come a little closer to this prediction come to fruition. Why is that? It is because on Adam Rose’s WWE.com show “The Rose Garden”, Adam Rose presented this grown man dressed in a bunny costume with his own profile on WWE.com’s main roster. This means that we will be seeing more of the Bunny on WWE television joining up with everyone’s favorite wrestling party machine and Twisted Tea spokesperson Adam Rose in wrestling matches against the likes of Heath Slater and Titus O’Neil. How can you not be excited about the idea of Heath or Titus dressing up like Elmer Fudd as they search for the Bunny? Think of the possibilities of a Carrot on a Pole Match at Extreme Rules or even Adam Rose and The Bunny defeating the Dust Brothers for the WWE Tag Team Championship! Will there be stuffed bunnies being sold at the WWE Shop? It’s got the size, it’s got the look, and it’s got the charisma. I smell money. Now for the record, I like Adam Rose. I even named my 2000 Chevy Impala “The Exotic Express” after the bus that Adam and his Rosebuds party in. Sure the gimmick is based off some Russell Brand character that I really don’t find funny, and the gimmick doesn’t seem as cool as it did on NXT but I still enjoy the character. It’s just that no one really took him seriously before, so he definitely won’t be taken seriously now with a guy dressed as a Bunny as his tag team partner. The good news is that Vince McMahon may have finally gotten around to watching episodes of Looney Tunes or just saw the movie Space Jam. There have been some rumors flying around on who it can be. In the end, I don’t think it matters. I feel that no matter how talented the individual is, they will have to deal with the crap that comes along with dressing up as a bunny. Whoever is revealed as the Bunny might as well have made their debut on the WWE television by hatching out of an egg or being the mascot of Jack Swagger. I grew up seeing gimmicks like TL Hopper, Minotaur, and Doink the Clown (to be fair, evil Doink was freakin’ awesome), and in the 90s this was something that WWE wanted to get away from. Even WCW during that same period had Johnny B. Badd & The Honky Tonk Man feuding over the WCW TV Title. I bet a lot of folks down South probably wondered who would win a fight between an Elvis impersonator and a Little Richard impersonator. I think I've had enough goofiness in wrestling for a lifetime! I know that WWE is in a PG era right now, and they are catering to children all over again by having cartoonish characters but this is just silly. In wrestling, the best gimmicks are the realistic ones. Right now, WWE has a REAL person as their champion with in Brock Lesnar. I am not sure if WWE is trying to balance out the realness with the silliness or what. Maybe WWE wants to use the Bunny for Trix product placement! I can see Michael Cole, Jerry Lawler, and JBL eating bowls of Trix Cereal while letting you know that WWE Network is just 9.99. Or maybe it is just another Wrestlecrap.com Gooker nominee waiting to happen. Am I being too harsh on the Bunny? Should I give things some time to play out? Or do you find it silly too? I know that I have said that WWE just hasn’t been entertaining lately, but I can say that it definitely goes beyond a grown man being dressed as a Bunny. That’s another column for another day. Let’s see some of your thoughts on The Bunny! Hit me up on Twitter @whosantcox.

Follow us on Twitter @Kayfabe_Kickout, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email kayfabekickout2012@gmail.com.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page