top of page
  • By Anthony Cox, Kayfabe Kickout Senior Columnist

Sister, Sister


First off, I want to apologize for the 2 weeks off from writing. Work has been kicking my ass lately, and it’s caused me to put the columns on the back burner. The good news is that I am here for you now with something fresh. For weeks now, we have been seeing a lot of air time given to the Bella Twins. We have ourselves one of those sibling versus sibling angles. I was never a fan of these types of story-lines because they just are not executed well enough to be believable or interesting. To be honest, I feel that the only one that was ever executed correctly and was actually well thought out was the angle involving Bret Hart & Owen Hart. The buildup to it was good, and the payoff that took place beyond on that was great leading to some awesome matches between the two. This angle involving the Bellas, while playing out correctly and all, just isn’t cutting it for me. I don’t want to cheer it. I don’t want to boo it. I am simply indifferent to it. Indifference is the worst kind of response that an angle can get from a wrestling fan. When they talk in the ring, it just seems like they talk to the sounds of crickets chirping. The fans aren’t even into it enough to do “boring” chants. Everything just comes off as overly scripted and poorly rehearsed. We know that Nikki is evil now because she wears black! Brie is the hero because she has new theme music! The acting skills of the two range somewhere between an oak tree and Gianna Michaels. Even the “Growing Up Bella” stuff was crap. The dramatic music, Nikki telling everyone how Brie treated her growing up with tales of stolen cars, helping her sister cheat on exams…KILL ME NOW! Though, my older brother is afraid to take out the trash after dark, but I never told anyone. This all led to WWE deciding to bring in Jerry Springer for the segment. The talk show host who was once awesome back in like 1997 was brought in to help drag things on even further because Michael Sam was signed by the Dallas Cowboys…or something like that. That segment had the whole family involved, parents, brother, and for what? To push Total Divas on E! where you can ALSO see their feud play out. Leave it to WWE to use overly scripted reality TV to push their overly scripted Diva feuds. Everyone knows that the best way to handle real life problems is in a fake wrestling ring. There is some collateral damage on this one! AJ Lee and Paige have to join in since this is all leads up to a match that involves the Divas Title. Apparently, WWE didn’t think the Bellas could carry this thing themselves, or they just wanted a way to kill two birds with one stone. That’s right! Combine badly scripted sibling rivalry angle with the ambiguously lesbian duo angle (READ: Trish Stratus and Mickie James did it so much better). I don’t know how this is going to be play out, and to be honest, I’m not sure if anyone really cares. I doubt we are going to get good matches out of it or anything that doesn’t come off as goofy or campy. I am sure that Daniel Bryan is very happy to not have to be involved in any of this stuff while he is at home. I know that his name was brought up before, but not for the most part, he hasn’t had to become involved. Maybe Brie is handling the infidelity issues Bryan had with the physical therapist internally! Rest easy, little guy, I am sure that creative will have something very awesome for you when you return…maybe. What do you folks out there think? You think I am being too hard on the Bellas? Or do you think that the angle sucks too? Follow me on Twitter @whosantcox.

Follow us on Twitter @Kayfabe_Kickout, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email kayfabekickout2012@gmail.com.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page