top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Interview With "The Queen Of Mean" Persephone Vice, Current BTPW Women's Champion

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: Vertigo Productions

Welcome back wrestling fans to another fantastic interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout. Today I had the immense pleasure to speak with Canadian Women's Wrestler,"The Queen of Mean," the beautiful Persephone Vice, who hails from Ottawa, Ontario. Persephone has a relatively short career in professional wrestling, but she's made quite an impact since her in-ring debut. She's held the OCW (Ontario Championship Wrestling) Women's Championship for an impressive 126 days and she's currently the BTPW Women's Champion and I'm sure those titles will not be the only titles she will hold during her fantastic career. Persephone is a dangerous combination of beauty and power and standing at 6'2, is an intimidating figure inside the ring, most of her female opponents have a literal uphill battle when they step in the ring with her. I spoke with Persephone on her stature, the overall change in the presentation of women's professional wrestling, where she sees her career in five years and more. Richard: For some wrestling fans who may not be familiar with your career in professional wrestling, can you give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of "The Queen of Mean" Persephone Vice? Persephone: I've got an upcoming show on May 10th for Big Time Pro Wrestling in Ottawa Ontario. There are a few other promotions that have contacted me but nothing has been confirmed yet as I need to iron out the creases with my hectic schedule at work. Richard: You stand at 6'2, which is a rarity these days in terms of female professional wrestlers. Do you seen your height as a hindrance or as an asset in your career? Persephone: Obviously it's an asset as it separates me from the other women in this business and I use it to my advantage in the ring. Richard: You held the OCW Women's Championship for 126 days. Which do you think is more important, number of title reigns or the overall length of a particular title reign? Persephone: I believe that the overall length of title reign is important because it gives an opportunity for the fans to believe that this particular woman wrestler has the power and ability to be unstoppable and unbeatable. The hype for title matches mean so much more because the fans the chance to think "who can bring the giant down" or "who is brave enough to step up and go toe to toe with the amazon" Currently, I'm the first ever BTPW Women's Champion. I've successfully defended that title and I've held the title since I won it in December 2013. Those matches get a lot of hype from the fans and the fans get really into the ladies matches.

Richard: Do you think it's absolutely vital for female professional wrestlers to have a certain look that a company like the WWE has for its female talent to be more important, than actual raw wrestling talent? Persephone: You need both. It is important to have a distinct look because that's what sets you apart from the others and it can help with building your character and gimmick. In regards to raw wrestling talent, some people have the ability to pick up wrestling very quickly, while others need to put more time in and really hone their skills. There is always room for improvement and growth in wrestling as long as you're willing to put the time in. Richard: What's the number one women's championship you hope to add to your wrestling resume? Persephone: I'd love to have more opportunities in the US. Holding the SHIMMER or Shine women's title would be amazing! Richard:Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Persephone: I think that women's wrestling has evolved so much and I believe it has been for the better. There are quality promotions out there that support women's wrestling and the fans really take a hold of it. These women are putting their time in at the gym and in-ring training which makes women's wrestle more legitimate. Richard: Hailing from Toronto, Ontario, Canada, do you think in your opinion wrestlers from other countries, more specifically female wrestlers could benefit from learning the rugged Canadian style of professional wrestling? Persephone: As a wrestler, you can never stop improving, you can never stop learning. If I was given the opportunity to train in another country, I would take it. To have a background of different wrestling skills is beneficial. Richard: Who was the number one women's pro wrestler who inspired you to get into the business, if you had one that is? Persephone: Sensational Sherri!!! Richard: You've faced male wrestlers in the ring on several occasions during your career thus far, were you treated differently in the ring because you were female? Persephone: Hell no!! I would be really mad if a male wrestler didn't go full force with me during our match. I'm not a delicate butterfly. I wouldn't expect him to to treat me any different. If I go toe to toe with a male wrestler, then I'm treated like one of the boys. I'm not afraid to go toe to toe with a male wrestler. I know I'm in for the match of my life and I'm ready to bring. Richard:Where do you see yourself in five years, in terms of your career in professional wrestling? Persephone: I'm hoping to have more exposure in the USA and other provinces in Canada. That would be my goal. Richard: Do you think that the smaller independent women's promotions can compete with larger promotions like the WWE and TNA? Persephone: I think it can be difficult for a independent promotion to compete with the big leagues. However, I'm well aware that some of the stronger and larger women's promotions have some incredibly talented women on their rosters. I think those promotions do an incredible job at showcasing those talented women wrestlers. Richard: If you had the chance to wrestle any female professional wrestler, past or present, who would that wrestler be and why? Persephone: I have a top 4! Sensational Sherri, Chyna, Trish Stratus and Tamina Snuka. Why? Because all of those women are bad-ass! Fans can follow "The Queen of Mean" Persephone Vice on Twitter @mspvice and on her Official Facebook Page. I want to personally thank Persephone Vice for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


18 views0 comments
bottom of page