top of page
  • By Anthony Cox, Kayfabe Kickout Senior Columnist

Wyatt vs Cena: I Like It!


First and foremost, I want to apologize to all of my readers. I have been pretty busy with my life outside of the internet wrestling community and haven’t been able to write nearly as much as I have wanted to. I am still here for you folks, and I am back with something fresh for all of you. I hope you enjoy this. I’ll get right into it. I can’t say enough good things about Bray Wyatt and his promos. Every week he seems to top whatever he did the week before. Each and every week more and more people decide that it’s time to “Follow the Buzzards”. This past Monday on Raw we saw Bray Wyatt get a group of children in sheep masks to sing “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands”. It’s a song that we all know, but it was very chilling to see a group of kids sing it at the command of Bray Wyatt. It was very cult like. The emotion that John Cena showed was something akin to Superman being exposed to Kryptonite. Cena did this masterfully, and it made you think that he was truly hurt that one group of people who believed in Cena Nation have now turned on him (something that happens when these kids reach puberty anyhow). The idea of the kids turning on John Cena is something new. It makes you wonder, will kids turn in their colorful shirts for sheep masks? How soon before my 10 year old brother will also scream that Cena sucks? How soon before one of those Make-A-Wish kids requests Cena only to be wearing a sheep mask when Cena shows up? The jeers for Cena get louder and louder each and every week. Pro wrestling is in need of something that is new and fresh, and the Wyatts are giving us just that. People cheer for new stuff, and will eventually dismiss something that has gone stale and has gotten lame. It eventually happened with Hulk Hogan, and it is happening now with Cena. Now I know that some of you marks will cream in your pants at the idea of John Cena turning heel, but is there really a need for it? To me, he is already a heel to so many of us that watch wrestling. We boo him, we find his jokes to be lame, can’t stand his acting in B-movies, and constantly rag on his 5 moves of doom, etc. etc. Of course if he truly turns heel, all the cool kids (the older fans) will start to cheer him. Right now, I like the fact that Cena is actually showing some vulnerability and frustration. We are seeing that The Wyatt’s are truly a thorn in his side. Cena won the battle at WrestleMania, but he has yet to win the war. Bray Wyatt has made that very clear. I am actually interested to see how this story-line plays out. I would not even mind seeing it continue on past the Extreme Rules PPV this Sunday because I feel that there will have to be more to it. I just hope that they don’t have Wyatt constantly lose in any subsequent rematches because it would do nothing for him. Of course, Bray Wyatt getting a win over Cena would only enhance his credibility as a star of the future in WWE. I just hope that WWE is willing to finally pull that trigger and go with something that is new and different. Now is the time for this company to elevate new stars, but they have to understand that it will always have to be at the expense of the current stars. What are your thoughts and opinions on this? Are you enjoying this feud too? As always, you can get at me on Twitter @whosantcox or you can email me at invidwarriorz@gmail.com.

Follow us on Twitter @Kayfabe_Kickout, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email kayfabekickout2012@gmail.com.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page