top of page
  • By Anthony Cox, Kayfabe Kickout Senior Columnist

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!


I don’t know about anyone else, but for me WrestleMania week is the biggest week of the year! It is bigger than the week leading up to the Super Bowl for and I love football. I get more excited about WrestleMania Sunday than I do about Super Bowl Sunday. It is hard to believe that we are on the verge of witnessing WrestleMania XXX. I remember being an excited 1st grade and being excited over Hulk Hogan vs. Ultimate Warrior for WrestleMania VI, or when I was 15 years old and watched Stone Cold Steve Austin defeat Shawn Michaels to become the WWF champion at WrestleMania XIV. I have so many memories from all of these shows that I can go on and on about it. Anyone who knows me out there on Facebook can see that I have posted highlights from the first 14 WrestleManias or so. By the end of the week all 29 will be there. I do this each and every year! For WrestleMania XXX, I am not sure what to be hype about outside of the prospect of WWE finally pulling the trigger and having Daniel Bryan win the WWE World Title on what has always been known as “The Grandest Stage of Them All”. If he wins, then finally the fans will get that long overdue payoff, and it can show that the brass at WWE aren’t TOTAL morons. WrestleMania has always been about sending the fans home happy. Anything other than Bryan holding up those belts among a sea of “Yes” chants will be unacceptable. Do what’s best for business, WWE! Hulk Hogan returned home just in time for this event, and it will be cool seeing him host the show after taking part in so many great WrestleMania moments in his prime. WWE has used him well in media appearances even having him appear on the Arsenio Hall Show which was like going into a time machine for me! Remember what happened when he was on Arsenio Hall before (for all of you who were alive during the show’s first run)? But I digress; Hogan has been doing a great job selling the event along with the WWE Network. I give props to the WWE machine for knowing exactly how to use him with his return to the company. Outside of the main event matches (I include Bryan vs Triple H in this), I am not sure what to think. I mean we know that Undertaker vs Brock will deliver and that The Undertaker is going to preserve his streak, but how will they make it believable that the Undertaker can lose? To anyone over the age of 13 they already know better. The Shield vs. Kane and the New Age Outlaws just smells “throwaway match” to me, but it’s also match I can see being better than anyone expects. The tag team title match should be good, and it can bring some shine to that division. Vickie Guerrero Divas invitational? Meh. I guess...John Cena vs Bray Wyatt would be a good way for WWE to continue to push some new blood, and they can do it at the expense of one of their top dogs. The question is if WWE will actually pull the trigger on it or not. There is one person that I feel sort of bad for, and that is the winner of the Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal. Rumor has it the winner has to walk around with that goofy ass trophy until the next WrestleMania. I am sort of hoping that the trophy gets destroyed. In closing, enjoy WrestleMania week! I am jealous of those folks who get to hang out at Fan Axxess and attend the WWE Hall of Fame ceremonies. All I know is that Sunday can’t get here soon enough for the same person who at age 4 watched highlights from WrestleMania III, and witnessed Hulk Hogan slam Andre the Giant making him a wrestling fan for life that is still there 27 years later. As always you can follow me on Twitter @whosantcox or you can email me your thoughts to invidwarriorz@gmail.com.

Follow us on Twitter @Kayfabe_Kickout, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email kayfabekickout2012@gmail.com.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page