top of page
  • By Anthony Cox, Kayfabe Kickout Senior Columnist

The Alternate Timeline


Last week I bought up a topic in one of the many wrestling groups that I belong to on Facebook. I asked “Did you ever wonder what if WCW had won the war with WWF? Like how different would the wrestling landscape be?” This question led to folks giving me many different answers. And while it is one of those things where there is no right or wrong answer because we don’t know what would have truly happened; I still think that it made for a very interesting conversation. Some felt the wrestling landscape would be even worse while some can argue that things would actually be better. In this column I will give my thoughts on what I felt would have happened and why. A lot of folks felt that WCW would have eventually died itself due to the fact that it was a horribly mismanaged company anyhow. I have to disagree with this for one reason. In order for WCW to have actually won the battle with the WWF, WCW would have had to NOT make the mistakes that it made that led to its demise in the first place while the WWF would have been the one that had been mismanaged. In this reality, WCW would have been competent. I also had someone say to me that they felt that wrestling would be worse off. Once again, I can’t buy into this. Let’s look at the wrestling landscape right now. All of the things that are used to measure the success of wrestling such as house show attendance, PPV buyrates, and ratings are all the lowest that they have been in a very long time. Compared to 13 years ago, 60-70% less people are watching professional wrestling currently. If it got any worse than this, then we would be at a point where NO ONE would be watching wrestling! I truly feel that more people would be watching wrestling than the amount of people watching now. I will get to that a little bit later as far as the reasoning goes. I honestly don’t think that if WCW won the Monday Night Wars, that the WWF would have totally gone away, at least not for good. The reason for this is because we all know that Vince McMahon is an egomaniac who hates to lose. What would have happened is Vince would have probably scaled back his product a little bit instead of running it into the ground in hopes of seizing ratings. Being the smart business man that he is, he wouldn’t have thrown good money after bad like the folks in WCW did when the WWF finally got their shit together and blew them out of the water. I think McMahon would have scaled his operation down to a Northeast group like it had originally been while taking advantage of and STILL having all of his own film to do things such as make DVDs of classic events. Even if WCW was the top dog, the WWF would have still had its own loyal fan base that would have kept watching regardless. What this means is that while they would have been a distant #2, I highly doubt they would have been going .89s like TNA is doing now. Automatically you would have more people watching the current product in the alternate reality. While scaling the product back, I am thinking that he would have used the time to regroup and come up with a plan (a plan that would take a few years) in order to be competitive with WCW again. Over on the WCW side of things, they would be afloat because they would have had the foresight to create new stars and not recycle the same people in the same spots for 4 years. If WCW was making the kind of profit it was making in 1997, then the sky is the limit on how much more money they would be making and how much bigger THEY would have become because they were financially backed by one of the richest men in the history of the world! Just think, in this alternate reality there wouldn’t be a TNA wrestling because Jeff Jarrett would probably still be working for WCW. Regardless of how you personally feel about him, he is a good hand to have on any wrestling roster. I feel that Ring of Honor would still exists as a #3 organization, but probably the same distant #3 that it is now. At the end of the day, I definitely feel that there would be more wrestling jobs available to people with more places to work with national TV exposure. And if the WWF rose again, and the competition once again got fierce then we would eventually see Monday Night Wars 2! What do you wrestling fans out there think? As I said, there are no right and wrong answers here. I am sure that a lot of you out here would have a totally different alternate timeline from that one that I had just written. Do you think WWF would have totally gone away? Can you see guys like John Cena and Randy Orton working for WCW? What would Eric Bischoff be doing right now as the top dog in pro wrestling? The possibilities are infinite! As always, you can email me at invidwarriorz@gmail.com. I respond to all questions in a timely manner. Or you can follow me on Twitter @whosantcox. Until next time, have a good one wrestling fans!

Follow us on Twitter @Kayfabe_Kickout, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email kayfabekickout2012@gmail.com.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page