top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Interview With Nikki St. John, Current Resistance Pro & Shine Wrestling Superstar

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: Nikki St. John Facebook

Hello again wrestling fans and welcome back to another outstanding interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout. For this interview I had the immense pleasure to speak with the beautiful Nikki St. John, current Shine Wrestling & Resistance Pro Superstar. Nikki has been involved in the pro wrestling business for the past six years, starting out as a valet. But the lure of performing inside the ring as a wrestler called Nikki and she trained hard, debuting in 2010 against fellow RPro alum Melanie Cruise. In the short time Nikki has been wrestling she has performed for some fantastic promotions such as POWW, DREAMWAVE, Lucha Libre Total, and soon she will be debuting for TNA's Developmental Territory OVW. ​In addition to being a women's professional wrestler Nikki is also a successful model, and it will certainly be a challenge for Nikki to juggle a career in professional wrestling, as well as a career in modeling. On March 23rd Nikki will certainly have her hands full as she steps in the ring with Luscious Latasha at Shine 8, which can be seen exclusively on iPPV. If Nikki can defeat Latasha, she will no doubt grab the attention of the execs of Shine and she will become a main event draw. I spoke with Nikki on who her toughest opponent was thus far in her career, her thoughts on wrestling fans taking her seriously as a wrestler, her thoughts on Luscious Latasha and more. Richard: For wrestling fans who might not know what you are involved with in the world of professional wrestling, can you just give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of Nikki St. John?

Nikki: For the past year I have mainly been wrestling at Resistance Pro. I also work at AIW on the Girls Night Out events in a heel faction with Annie Social, Sammy Geodollno and Heidi Lovelace known as The Social Network. On top of that I did Sparkle, the Shimmer pre show twice in '12, I made my debut at Shine as well as worked for other various promotions including, POWW, DREAMWAVE and Lucha Libre Total. Soon I will be making my debut at OVW! I'm really looking forward to that! Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Nikki: I think that times have changed and with it women's wrestling has had to change in order stay prevalent in today's society. I, like most female wrestlers, do admire the days of old. Maybe someway we'll find ourselves in a mix or hybrid of sorts of the new and the old. I think that would be the best direction we could go. Either way I'm proud and blessed to be a part of the ever changing product that is women's pro wrestling. Richard: At Shine 8 you are scheduled to wrestle Luscious Latasha, what are your thoughts on Latasha? Nikki: I've never met Luscious Latasha, but I have heard she is a fierce and vivacious competitor. I think I have my work cut out for me but I'm more than up to the challenge. I'm looking forward to seeing what she has to dish out.

Richard: In addition to being a women's professional wrestler you are also a model, do you think pro wrestling fans a whole take you less seriously because you have a career in modeling? Nikki: I think that my modeling career certainly sets hurdles for me in my wrestling career. Of course some fans don't take me as seriously but what others think of me is their issue, not mine. Those who do give me a chance to prove myself an athlete as well as a model have never been disappointed. And for me modeling, as well as wrestling, is empowering. No one can take that away from me. Richard: How did you get your start in professional wrestling? Nikki: I got my start in Professional Wrestling as a valet at POWW Entertainment out of NW Illinois in 2007. I worked as a valet for 2 years, gradually getting more and more involved in the matches. At one point I realized that if I didn't take it to the next level I would always regret it. So, I started training and putting in my time. I debuted in January 2010 against Melanie Cruise and actually won my first match! Richard: Who was the number one women's pro wrestler who inspired you to get into the business, if you had one that is? Nikki: I can't say there is one woman who inspired me as a whole to get involved in pro wrestling. Honestly it's the drive, motivation, dedication and heart that I see in the sport in general that attracted me. The girls I was working with at POWW, Melanie Cruise and Taylor Made were a huge inspiration. Also Sara Del Rey. And of course I've take a lot from watching Trish, Molly Holly, Victoria aka Tara, Gail and Mickey being some of my top faves. Richard: Amazing Kong is current the Resistance Pro Women's Champion, do you think you and her will lock up again in the future for the title? Nikki: I think as far as getting a title shot against Kong, I think I have a fight on my hands. I know D'arcy Dixon has her eye on the Woman's Title and Thunder Kitty is right behind her. I can promise that I'll keep working hard to get another shot at the belt and whomever is holding it better be ready for me. I was so close yet so far from holding that title for months. It's not something I am going to give up on that easily. Richard: Who was your toughest opponent thus far in your career? Nikki: Well, that's a close one but I'd have to say my toughest opponent thus far has been Kong. No matter what I did I just couldn't keep her down! She knocked my jaw out with that spinning back fist lol. But now I'm even more prepared for her the next time we meet, which I hope is sooner than latter. Richard: In your opinion what do you think of promotions like the WWE and TNA making women's wrestling more sex appeal rather than actual pro wrestling? Nikki: As I mentioned before, I believe WWE and TNA have done what's necessary to keep women's wrestling alive in today's society. Not to mention, it may not seem sexual to us watching the woman's wrestling of old but, you have to remember that at that time I'm sure it was perceived as sexual and edgy. Let's face it, we live in a sexually driven society. Sex sells and that's what puts asses in seats so that's what WWE and TNA puts out. I can't put it down because obviously they're doing something right lol. Richard: What would be your top women's professional wrestling championships you would want to compete for and win? Nikki: The WWE Divas Championship, The TNA Knockouts Championship, The Shimmer Championship and The Resistance Pro Women's Championship. Richard: I'd like to get your thoughts on Resistance Pro, do you think RPro has the potential to become a major player against companies like the WWE & TNA? Nikki: I really believe in Resistance Pro. In its first year it has accomplished so much. We have a great locker room and are constantly bringing in new talent that keeps the fans wondering who will debut next. RPro has already made quite a name for itself and has done more for my career than any other company. I'm so grateful to work with all of the talent and behind the scenes minds including Billy Corgan. It's been an experience and it's only just the beginning. There is no one path to success and RPro has certainly forged its own path to just that. I think the sky's the limit! Richard: With the success of women's promotions such as Shine and SHIMMER, do you think women's pro wrestling can be just as popular as men's pro wrestling? Nikki: I do believe that women's pro wrestling can be just as popular as men's. But without the men we wouldn't have the sport so, for that we must always remember where we come from and who helped us along the way. Fans can follow Nikki St. John on Twitter @nikki_stj and be sure to get Shine 8 on March 23rd, on iPPV to see Nikki lock up with Luscious Latasha. I want to personally thank Resistance Pro & Shine Wrestling Superstar Nikki St. John for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


28 views0 comments
bottom of page