top of page
  • By Richard Boudreau, Kayfabe Kickout Lead Editor

Interview With Rebecca Mason, Current Bellatrix Superstar


Photo: Rebecca Mason

Hello again wrestling fans and welcome back to another spectacular interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout, and another in our continuing series of interviews with the gorgeous but dangerous girls of Bellatrix, Saraya Knight's new women's promotion based in the UK. For this interview I had the pleasure to speak with Rebecca Mason. Rebecca has been involved in the pro wrestling business since 2007, and she started off on a fantastic note. She graduated from the prestigious Storm Academy of Wrestling, which is headed by none other than Lance Storm, former WWE, WCW, ECW & multiple time pro wrestling champion. Rebecca honed her craft under the tutelage of Lance Storm and fellow WCW & WWE Alum Chris Jericho, and it paid off in spades as Rebecca traveled back to the UK, where she wrestled for some of the top promotions there as well as Europe such as; 4FW, EWW, PCW, FutureShock Wrestling, Pro Wrestling EVE, NSW, Progress Wrestling, Wrestling IE, Welsh Wrestling and so many others. On March 24th at Bellatrix 5 on iPPV Rebecca will have an extremely tough challenge in front of her, as she's set to face the "Bombshell from Hell" Skarlett, and no doubt this will be more than a pro wrestling match, it will be a pier six brawl. I spoke with Rebecca on who her toughest opponent was thus far, her thoughts on what it's like working with UK legend Saraya Knight, the state of women's wrestling in 2013 and more. Richard: For wrestling fans who might not know what you are involved with in the world of professional wrestling, can you just give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of Rebecca Mason? Rebecca: It’s going to get a lot busier for me in the wrestling world with promotions such as HXC in Manchester being very excited to take myself and my husband ‘Loco’ Mike Mason on as well as many others. This however will be my first match back after having a severe wrist injury that could’ve prevented me from ever having full mobility of my dominant wrist and hand ever again. After Bellatrix, I’m looking forward to seeing just how busy my schedule gets! Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Rebecca: You have to look at both sides of the coin on the situation. The fact is if you look at the viewing percentages for WWE, then you are looking at 35% of them being female. So who are you going to cater to? The few, or the many? The casual wrestling fan wants to see beautiful women who aren’t intimidating, not beautiful women who could be overly threatening. I mean… some men like it, such as my husband, who respects me for it. There are many wrestling fans who also respect such a strong female presence as you would get in Bellatrix. The industry is due for a change, and I feel we are reaching a place where the casual fan is ready for more than a pretty face. The talent is getting stronger and better every year. Apparently Triple H has pointedly stated the women's division will change in WWE (which I believe to be shown by taking on female wrestlers such as Paige) and the rest of the industry will naturally follow suit as it always has. It won’t be immediate, but it will happen. Richard: At Bellatrix 5 on March 24th on iPPV you are set to face multi promotional women's champion "The Queen of Extreme" Skarlett, and she commented that she's not going to take it easy on you, you have a response? Rebecca: I would never want Skarlett to take it easy on me. The tougher she is on me, the harder I’ll push back and I want to show everyone that I have no limit. There is nothing that will make me stay down. Having the strength and hope to get back up, injury or not to me is the sign of true bravery. Skarlett knows it’d almost be an insult to expect any less out of me, and to underestimate me.

Richard: How did you get your start in professional wrestling? Rebecca: My first memory in life is of Bret Hart coming down the ramp and giving his pink sunglasses to a blonde little boy in the front row. I so wanted to be a little girl getting my sunglasses. When I watched my first British wrestling show, I realized that I could be one of the people who inspired the next generation like that. So I went to Storm Academy and trained under Lance Storm and Chris Jericho and have been training at the London School of Lucha Libre to reach my goal. Richard: Bellatrix is headed by iconic British Women's Wrestler Saraya Knight, can you share your thoughts on what it's like working under a legend such as Saraya? Rebecca: When I first started, I instantly heard of Saraya Knight. She was always listed as one of the female in the UK you respected, you learn from and you admire. As soon as she knew my wrist was ready, she called on me to join Bellatrix. There is nowhere I’d rather have my first match back and if she comes up after to me and is happy with what I do, then I’ll be able to tick a box off in my achievements. Richard: You've competed in some of the top pro wrestling promotions in Europe and the UK, which one was your absolute favorite to wrestle in? Rebecca: That’s a tough one, because there are so many elements to what takes to be a good promotion. I’d say for production values, the fans, the backstage atmosphere and the quality of wrestling, it would either be Extreme World Wrestling or Lucha Britannia. They both remember you’re a family and are always pushing the boat out. I highly recommend either. Richard: Who was the number one women's pro wrestler who inspired you to get into the business, if you had one that is? Rebecca: The number one female would probably be Lita. I think she inspired many girls of my generation. Also technically not a wrestler but Stephanie McMahon was just a brilliant character to have on shows. Sherri Martel has become an influence over time. Generally any women with really powerful personalities I truly enjoy. Richard: Who was your toughest opponent thus far in your career? Rebecca: My toughest opponent so far has to be April Davids. She doesn’t mess about. Highly skilled, adaptable and she won’t show mercy. Richard: In your opinion what do you think of promotions like the WWE and TNA making women's wrestling more sex appeal rather than actual pro wrestling? Rebecca: As I said before, the world is changing slowly. Just give it some time. Richard: What are your long term goals in professional wrestling? Rebecca: To reach TNA or WWE with my husband ‘Loco’ Mike Mason, then have children and breed super mega wrestling children that will annihilate all opponents! Richard: What would be your number one women's professional wrestling championship you would want to compete for and win? Rebecca: Possibly Shimmer. I’m more of a wrestler who wants to just compete against the best. If I hold a title, I’ll hold it to the best of my abilities and hopefully make it something everyone is dying to have too. Company wise, I would love to compete against the women in Triple A in Mexico, though I’m not sure if they have a women's belt or not. Please feel free to contact me on facebook.

Be sure to check out Rebecca take on Skarlett at Bellatrix 5, which only can be seen on iPPV. I want to personally thank Bellatrix Superstar Rebecca Mason for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com.

13 views0 comments
bottom of page