top of page
  • By Richard Boudreau, Kayfabe Kickout Lead Editor

Interview With Erin Angel, SWF Women's Champion & Current Bellatrix Superstar


Photo: Erin Angel Official Facebook Page

Welcome again wrestling fans to another fantastic interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout, and another in our continuing series of interviews with the beautiful, but hard hitting ladies of Saraya Knight's new women's promotion Bellatrix. In this interview I had the immense pleasure to speak with Erin Angel, who is set to take on Lady Penelope at Bellatrix 5 on March 24th on iPPV. Erin has been involved in the pro wrestling business for close to a decade and she started out when she was 14 years of age. Now at age 25 Erin still has many years left in her career, and the sky is the limit for this outstanding superstar. Even though Erin is small, she's dangerous in the ring, and as they say; "good things come in small packages." Erin has wrestled all over the world for some of the top promotions in Canada, India, France, Germany, Ireland, Spain and so many others. I spoke with Erin on who her toughest opponent was thus far in her career, her thoughts on what it's like as a smaller women's wrestler, what it was like working for ProWrestlingEVE and more. Richard: For wrestling fans who might not know what you are involved with in the world of professional wrestling, can you just give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of Erin Angel? Erin: There's a lot going on in my wrestling world right now, I had a busy and successful weekend, last weekend at EWW: Hell Is Where The Heart Is, I defeated the mysterious and damn right weird Phobia, and followed that with a big win over Destiny at Fairfields Hall Croydon, for All Star Wrestling Promotions. I'm once again the Southern Wrestling Federations Women's Champion, after battling to regain the champion off Amazon Ayesha-Ray. I'm excited to be part of my first official tag team myself and Kayleigh Rae 'The Fire Angels' will be at Pro Wrestling EVE on 27th April 2013. I'm also looking forward to heading back to Glasgow for ICW:Fierce Females second show on 4th May 2013. I'm gearing up for Bellatrix 5, I'm so excited its the first ever iPPV and the world will be watching, Erin Angel Vs Lady Penelope live on 24th March 2013! Richard: You are a wrestler of a smaller stature; 4'11, do you think smaller wrestlers can be just as popular with the fans as much larger ones? Erin: Well I admit we're a little harder to see in the ring, but with the camera technology in there nowadays..zoom in...LOL!...no seriously yes I think we can be just as popular. A physically bigger person may grab someone's attention a split second before they see me but I'll hold there attention for longer!...in the zoo people spend longer looking at lions than giraffes! Richard: You have held the RQW European Women's Championship, a title that is currently held by fellow Bellatrix Alum Queen Maya, do you think you have what it takes to defeat her and once again become RQW Women's Champion? Erin: No offense intended to Queen Maya there in the last question ha ha, but I think I definitely do have what it takes, I'd try and use her height against her and take her to her knees...my height! In all seriousness she is a very worthy champion and I could see her having a long reign, but If I got the chance to take her on to become RQW European Women's Champion once again I would! Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Erin: I honestly think, like everything wrestling has just moved with the times... because in the last 25 years 'Men's' wrestling has changed dramatically from how it was presented too. I think if it hadn't moved on we couldn't be where is it today...I'm busier than ever, there's more women wrestlers today than ever and Women's show's are selling out. I don't worry about the past, cause its gone now...I'm thinking of today...what I'm up to....and today is awesome in my boots! Richard: At Bellatrix 5 on March 24th on iPPV you are set to face Lady Penelope, she seems pretty confident that she's going to walk away with a “W” in her favor, care to comment? Erin: She looks like a real tough cookie and I know we're similar in style. I think I'll be well matched in high flying abilities and speed so I'm gonna rely on my extra few years knowledge to ensure I'm the winner of this match!

Richard: Bellatrix is headed by iconic British Women's Wrestler Saraya Knight, can you share your thoughts on what it's like working under a legend such as Saraya? Erin: Over my years in wrestling I've been lucky enough to known the whole Knight family. They are infamous in the UK wrestling scene, and are the hardest working people, their keeping wrestling strong today. It's fantastic their getting the world recognition they deserve. I'm delighted to be part of Bellatrix headed by our very own British Legend Sweet Saraya, she's an inspiration to all females wrestlers.

Richard: How did you get your start in professional wrestling? Erin: I went to a local show and spoke to the promoter Scott Conway, I trained on his training weekends once a month for 3 months then he went to Thailand, he introduced me to a team of wrestlers touring the UK on the holiday camp circuit. I helped in whatever needed to be done for the show including the ring jobs and refereeing and in return we got the ring up early about two hours early each day and trained. I got to train with whoever was on the team...allowing my style to not be a copy of any particular wrestlers style, rather picking up bits from many many top UK wrestlers. Richard: On several occasions you have wrestled for Pro Wrestling EVE, can you share your thoughts on what it was like performing for one of the top women's promotions in Europe? Erin: Its awesome I'm so happy being part of Pro Wrestling EVE. I've had some great matches, I especially enjoyed the Ice Ribbon Weekend. My last show though I was left with a bitter taste in my mouth...or to be more precise stinging in my eyes, after successful stopping Glamor Gym from viciously attacking Angelina Love, I was attacked myself with their cheap toxic hairspray attack! I don't normally hold a grudge but these two have really ruffled my angel wings! Richard: What are your long term goals in professional wrestling? Erin: I want to enjoy each moment in wrestling, I plan to keep wrestling as much as I can, in the UK, Europe and beyond. I love what I'm doing and I'm taking opportunities as they come!

Richard: Who was your toughest opponent thus far in your career? Erin: The 'Hell in Boots' Klondyke Kate she's a UK legend and I'd heard of her well before wrestling her. At 320lbs she was a scary opponent she took all my mental and physical strength to beat in the ring but I ended up wrestling her for many years and have the utmost respect for her in and out the ring she's an amazingly talented and knowledgeable woman. Thanks to Richard for the interview and thank you to the fans for reading this and supporting Bellatrix and myself. Don't miss Bellatrix's first ever iPPV on 24th March 2013! And you can keeping supporting me by following on Facebook and my other Facebook and Twitter also. Erin Angel xx I want to personally thank Bellatrix Superstar and SWF Women's Champion Erin Angel for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page