top of page
  • By Richard Boudreau, Kayfabe Kickout Lead Editor

Interview With Lady Penelope, Current Bellatrix Superstar


Photo: Lady Penelope

Hello again wrestling fans and welcome back to another fantastic interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout. In our continuing series of interviews with the roster of Bellatrix, I had to pleasure to speak with Lady Penelope, who is set to face Erin Angel on March 24th at Bellatrix 5, which can be seen on iPPV. Penelope has been involved in the pro wrestling business since 2011, and she made her start working for the legendary UK Wrestler Saraya Knight and her promotion World Association of Wrestling, which is now known as Bellatrix. Penelope's style of high flying and British ground and pound have helped her make the main roster of Bellatrix, where she will no doubt make her mark, and etch her name in the annals of Bellatrix Wrestling History. I spoke with Lady Penelope on her thoughts on her upcoming match with Erin Angel on March 24th, how she got her start in professional wrestling, her thoughts on working with the iconic Saraya Knight and more. Richard: For wrestling fans who might not know what you are involved with in the world of professional wrestling, can you just give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of Lady Penelope? Penelope: I’ve been wrestling for just under two years now, I was trained by the Knight Dynasty, I first started training in May 2011, My first match was a 3 women’s Tag In June 2011, I’ve not looked back since. This business is everything to me and I’ll make it what I will! I am one of the original Bellatrix girls, I have got a lot of fight and heart for wrestling and will one day make my way to the top. Richard: How did you get your start in professional wrestling? Penelope: Well I grew up watching wrestling from a young age, the first time I laid eyes on the business I knew that’s what I wanted to do. And the first chance I got, I jumped at the opportunity, so I may 2011 I went down to the World Association of Wrestling and haven’t looked back. Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Penelope: There are good things and bad things, the good being that over the years more females have come into the business and be successful, But as the years have gone on obviously the internet has been discovered which is also a good and bad thing, getting publicity, but it can come back to bite you. Richard: At Bellatrix 5 on March 24th you are set to face Erin Angel, if you walk away with a "Win" on your record where would you like to go in promotion in terms of your career? Penelope: Well this match itself means a lot, not just because I’m wrestling a top worker, But because it’s going Live around the world! This is a huge chance not just for me, but for all the female wrestlers’ involved, It’s really doesn’t get much bigger than this. I’m hoping that after my match with Erin Angel I may start to get the recognition, its early days but in terms of my career I would love to eventually be recognized as a top female wrestler just around the UK, But my biggest goal is Shimmer! If I ever got there in my eyes I’ve made, that’s where I want be, and that’s were I intent on going.

Richard: Bellatrix is headed by iconic British Women's Wrestler Saraya Knight; can you share your thoughts on what it's like working under a legend such as Saraya? Penelope: It’s an absolute honor to work for Sweet Saraya, Not only is she someone I look up too, and go to for advice but she’s an amazing wrestling I learn so much from this woman! And she’s doesn’t realize how much of an inspiration she is to me and us girls. Richard: What female wrestler either past or present would you most love to work with in the ring? Penelope: There’s so many that I would love to work with, One person that I’m gutted that I never got the chance to have a singles match with is Britani Knight – Aka – Paige! But if I could choose anyone I would choose Lita, I watched a lot of her stuff when I was younger and would awesome to go toe to toe with her. Richard: In terms of your wrestling style which women's professional wrestler would you compare yourself to? Penelope: My wrestling style is more based on British tech and high flying, Well It wouldn’t say compare but I’d like to wrestle like WWE’s Paige, TNA’s Gail Kim, and Of Course Shimmer Champion – Sweet Saraya. Richard: Which of any of the big three pro wrestling promotions would be your number one choice to work for, if given the opportunity; WWE, TNA, or ROH? Penelope: I think the more realistic choice would be ROH which be amazing but I’ve always wanted to work in WWE, Who doesn’t? I think most wrestlers want the big time. Richard: When was the exact moment you decided you wanted to become a professional wrestler? Penelope: Well one day I was flicking through the channels, around 1998 so I was real young and came across WWE, and was mesmerized, I continued to watch and never stopped, I Knew that from the first time I saw it that, that’s what I have to do, And just never gave up the dream. Richard: In your opinion what do you think of promotions like the WWE and TNA making women's wrestling more sex appeal rather than actual pro wrestling? Penelope: Well that what works for them, but at the same I think can reflect a bad light on other female workers, who want to be known for their work not just there a appearance, But on the Indy scene there’s much more opportunity to show case your talent. Richard: Who was the number one women's pro wrestler who inspired you to get into the business, if you had one that is? Penelope: I never really had one growing up, apart from Lita, but in recent years as I learned and more independent wrestling I would say Sweet Saraya And WWE’s – Paige, But this also is because they had a lot to do with my training. Fans can check out Lady Penelope's Official Facebook Page, and her Official YouTube Channel and be sure to check out her match against Erin Angel on March 24th at Bellatrix 5 on iPPV. I want to personally thank Bellatrix Superstar Lady Penelope for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page