top of page
  • By Richard Boudreau, Kayfabe Kickout Lead Editor

Interview With "The Nordic Valkyrie" Miss Mina, Current Bellatrix Superstar


Photo: Miss Mina Official Facebook Page

Welcome back wrestling fans to yet another stupendous interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout, and this is the first in a series of interviews featuring the stars of UK Icon Saraya Knight's new Women's Promotion Bellatrix. Bellatrix is hosting a massive show on iPPV on March 24th, and the wrestlers featured in these interviews will be headlining this fantastic show. For this interview I had the pleasure to speak with international wrestler and current Bellatrix Superstar, "The Nordic Valkyrie" Miss Mina. Mina has been involved in the professional wrestling industry since 2004, where she is an active wrestler for Norway's NWF (Norwegian Wrestling Federation). Nina became a pioneer for women's pro wrestling in Norway, becoming the first active female pro wrestler, and the only active one for the NWF for numerous years. During her career Mina has competed for numerous well known promotions in Europe such as; Union of European Wrestling Alliances, World Association of Wrestling, Danish Pro Wrestling, German Wrestling Federation and many others. Mina has been selected by the legendary UK Wrestler Saraya Knight to wrestle for Knight's Bellatrix Promotion, a prestigious honor to say the least. Mina will no doubt make a name for herself for Bellatrix, and her career will indeed skyrocket being a part of a top promotion like Bellatrix. I spoke with Mina on what the wrestling scene is like in Norway, her upcoming match at Bellatrix 5 against Amy Lee, her long term goals in pro wrestling and more. Richard: For wrestling fans who might not know what you are involved with in the world of professional wrestling, can you just give us an update on what's going on in the busy schedule of "The Nordic Valkyrie" Miss Mina? Mina: Hi everyone, yes at the minute I have a lot of great things going on. One of them is the upcoming show at Bellatrix 5 where I will be facing Amy Lee Kramer. This will be live on iPPV so you best be sure to tune in. I still have some training of my ankle to do since I tore of my muscle on Bellatrix 4 and of course everything that is going on here in Norway with the company Norway's Wrestling federation (NWF ) We have some new girls and I am thrilled, since I have been the only and first female for many years. Hopefully we can get them ready for the ring soon! Richard: Do you think Women's Professional Wrestlers in North America can benefit to be schooled in the aspects of Pro Wrestling from other parts of the world, including Norway? Mina: Absolutely, Not that they don’t get proper training and stuff, it`s just getting new impulses and learning how to wrestle different styles. Cooperating the different styles of wrestling is what I love. When I can pull in a little bit of everything and become a versatile worker. I would recommend it to any American worker to take the trip to Europe, and many of the big names of the wresting ring has done the same. Richard: You have an upcoming match against Amy Lee on March 24th, under the new umbrella of "Bellatrix," if you are successful in defeating Lee, do you think the upper echelon of Bellatrix will take notice of you and put you in future title matches? Mina: My upcoming match will be a war and a battle. I`m giving everything I have in that match, it’s a matter of honor and pride! I have a mission to show why I am named The Nordic Valkyrie and I will be kicking her ass into Valhalla, let`s just hope the gods will take her in. As we know they will only take the real warriors of this world! My aim is the belt, I will get my shot, for I have shown myself worthy and I don’t think it has gone unnoticed.

Richard: If I could get off the topic of pro wrestling for a moment?, are you familiar with the show on Netflix called "Lilyhammer"?, if you are not; It's about an American Mobster who goes into the witness relocation program and is relocated to Lillehammer, Norway. If you have seen it what do you think of the show? and if you haven't check it out, it's hilarious. Mina: Yes, I've seen some episodes but unfortunately I didn’t have the time to watch it all. I will though, and then I’ll get back to you with my opinion of the whole thing ;) Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Mina: It's A hard question…It is a like /dislike situation! I like how the wrestling has evolved for females. At least in the Indy companies. I am not very happy with the knockouts or divas just being a product of sex, because this is how they are portrayed by the big companies. But again it is a new era coming again and women’s wrestling will go into better times! There was more respect for the girls going into the ring some 25 years ago. These are the females creating the road for us and for the future! The women of wrestling has always had a harder time having to prove themselves, it is a man’s profession and we have all sure heard it! But again this has made me stronger!! Richard: Bellatrix is headed by iconic British Women's Wrestler Saraya Knight, can you share your thoughts on what it's like working under a legend such as Saraya? Mina: Saraya, is an Icon and an inspiration! She has done things in this business I can only Dream about. There is no female in this world that has my utter respect apart from my my mom! My late trainer Isak Rain (RIP) took me over to train with Sweet Saraya and Ricky Knight (WAW) in 2005 and I will be forever grateful! Without them I wouldn’t be where I am today. And I'm happy I still have the great pleasure of working for and with her! I would like to thank her for giving everything she is, to us girls! Richard: What are your goals for the future in terms of your career in professional wrestling? Mina: My goals from the start have been to travel to Japan, and to start my own girls pro wrestling company. I am in love with the Indy scene and would also love to have the chance to go to Shimmer. Hopefully I will do them all with time. Richard: When was the exact moment when you decided you wanted to be a professional wrestler? Mina: I have been a fan of wrestling since my early childhood. The late 80s and 90s I was watching wrestling on sky channel, amazed of what these performers did in the ring. We didn’t have anything like that in Norway at the time. When wrestling finally got started in Norway by Eric Isaksen, I heard about it a few years later. I went to a show, and was sold! This is what I need to do! So I applied for a tryout and a long story short, it was one of the hardest things I ever done but I got in as Norway’s first female wrestler. Richard: Is professional wrestling popular in Norway? Mina: No, we are very small in Norway. It is just in the last period of time we have got some good media attention. But we do have a good crowd and fan base here. We are working hard to educate the Norwegians about wrestling! Richard: Which of any of the big three pro wrestling promotions would be your number one choice to work for, if given the opportunity; WWE, TNA, or ROH? Mina: I would say that I would love to start out in ROH and then move up to WWE if I have the chance! Richard: What female wrestler either past or present would you most love to work with in the ring? Mina: There are so many, I always love getting new experiences in the ring! Present I would love to have the opportunity to wrestle Madison Eagles and past I would have loved to wrestle Sherri Martel. Richard: Is the climate in Norway as cold as people say it is? Mina: Well if you mean that we have snow all year around and ice bears in the streets then no, hehe. We have a cold winter, up to 40 minus degrees and the winters are long. Like 6 months. But the degrees varies. Right now we have snow and ice but 4 degrees. In the summer we are usually blessed with 30 (86 F) degree days. Richard: Who was the number one women's pro wrestler who inspired you to get into the business, if you had one that is? Mina: I was a big fan of Lita when she came. She was different and I loved what she done in the ring. Thank you all for your time, and tune in on Bellatrix 5. It will be WAR! All the best The Nordic Valkyrie Miss Mina! Fans can follow "The Nordic Valkyrie" Miss Mina on her Official Facebook Page and wrestling fans can check out Miss Mina in the ring on Bellatrix 5 which will be live on iPPV on March 24th. I want to personally thank "The Nordic Valkyrie" Miss Mina for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page