top of page
  • By Richard Boudreau, Kayfabe Kickout Lead Editor

Interview With Melanie Cruise, Former Two Time Resistance Pro Women's Champion


Photo: Melanie Cruise

Welcome back wrestling fans to another stupendous interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout. For this interview I had the honor and privilege to speak with former two time Resistance Pro Women's Champion, and one of the top women's professional wrestlers in the world; Melanie Cruise. Although Melanie has not been in the business for very long, she has made quite an impact in the world of women's professional wrestling. Melanie has wrestled for a myriad of various promotions that recognized her extraordinary talents including; SHIMMER, DREAMWAVE WRESTLING, Absolute Intense Wrestling, the NWA, and of course Resistance Pro. In 2011 Melanie's skill and intensity in the ring caught the eye of TNA, and she was called up to the big leagues, where she wrestled in a dark match for IMPACT Wrestling against Sarita (Sara Stock). 2011 continued to be a great year for Melanie, as she was crowned the very first Resistance Pro Women's Champion, an impressive accolade. As if holding a world title wasn't enough, Melanie was recognized by Pro Wrestling Illustrated Magazine, as she made its best 50 singles female wrestlers, where she reached number 39. 2012 turned out to be an even better year for Melanie, as she made PWI's prestigious list once again, but this time making the top 25. In 2013, although she is not the RPro Women's Champion, there will be no doubt that Melanie will once again sit atop the mountain of Resistance Pro's Women's Division and will become a three time RPro Women's Champion. I spoke with Melanie on what it was like wrestling in SHIMMER, her thoughts on making PWI's top 25 female wrestlers in the world for 2012, her above average height and so much more. Richard: For wrestling fans who may not be familiar with your career thus far can you tell us how you got your start in professional wrestling? Melanie: I started in this business in the middle of 2007. I would go watch a few friends wrestle at some Indy shows and after a few years it was something I wanted to try. I was trained by Ruff Crossing, Scott Spade and Jimmy Blaze. I am forever grateful to them for getting my wrestling ability as far as they did. Richard: What was going through your mind when you were crowned the very first Resistance Pro Women's Champion? Melanie: What was going through my head at that moment was that I have a huge opportunity right in front of me and I was going to take full advantage of it. Richard: When was the exact moment you decided you wanted to become a professional wrestler? Melanie: There was no exact moment. When I watched what happened in that ring whether it was on TV or the Indys I was intrigued. Growing up and watching, you never think you can do it but now here I am...loving every minute of it :) Richard: In your opinion do you think Resistance Pro Wrestling could grow to be a competitor to companies like the WWE and TNA? Melanie: RPro is growing into something so much different then WWE or TNA. There it's a totally different mindset there. Richard: How did it feel when you received the word that you were ranked #25 in Pro Wrestling Illustrated's Top 50 Female Singles Wrestlers of 2012? Melanie: What I felt was honored and grateful. I have been striving to learn this craft for many years and if it weren't for the people who trained me and who helped me along the way it wouldn't be possible. Richard: Will your two previous reigns as RPro Women's Champion be the highlight of your career, or will you continue to strive toward bigger and better things in professional wrestling? Melanie: No it will not. I will never settle. RPro is a huge highlight of my career but it will not be the biggest. Richard: In your opinion what do you think of promotions like the WWE and TNA making women's wrestling more sex appeal rather than actual pro wrestling? Melanie: The thing with women's wrestling it's that on TV...sex sells. Everyone knows that. That's why it has become what it has in TNA and more so in WWE. Richard: What was it like wrestling for a promotion that most wrestling fans consider the top Women's Wrestling Promotion; SHIMMER? Melanie: I absolutely LOVE Shimmer. I have been given the chance there to work some of the most talented women in pro wrestling. That locker room is filled with women who work extremely hard proving that women's wrestling is not all about the looks and glamor. Richard: Over the last 25 years or so Women's Professional Wrestling has changed dramatically in terms of how it's presented, in your opinion do you think it's better today, or has the change hurt the product overall? Melanie: I honestly don't think it has hurt women's wrestling overall. It has hurt what is on TV. But the good thing is that anyone can go to an Indy show and see much better female workers. Richard: Do you think your above average height is an asset or a hindrance when it comes to your pro wrestling career? Melanie: My height is a huge advantage in my eyes. Yes it sucks when all the girls I work don't even come up to my chin. But overall I'm taller then must guys in the locker rooms...I love my height! Fans can follow Melanie on Twitter @melaniecruise77, and on Facebook I want to personally thank Melanie Cruise for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page