top of page
  • By Anthony Cox, Kayfabe Kickout Senior Columnist

IT DOESN'T MATTER WHAT THE ROCK SAYS!


I remember back in 2011 when the Rock made his return to WWE TV to not only hype WrestleMania 27, but to also hype up his own budding feud with John Cena. Like everyone else who hadn't seen The Rock be the Rock in a long time, I was pretty hyped up. Someone cool to show Cena out to be the chump that he was! Then something happened, two years went by and I find myself not really marking out for the Rock like I once did. Sure name calling and Rock concerts can be entertaining, but for some reason I have found myself not laughing as hard as I once did anymore. Is it because the stuff that was funny to me at age 16 isn't gonna be funny to me now at age 30? Or am I in the minority who think that The Rock just isn't as cool as he once was? Probably. I gave the example to a friend on Monday while watching that putrid excuse for a Monday Night Raw 20th anniversary show, I said that when I was a kid I loved that show "The Fresh Prince of Bel Air" it was funny and Will Smith was at the top of his game in the sitcom world; but now when I watch an episode of Fresh Prince, I still laugh a bit, but I also see that what is on my television is dated. This isn't a knock on The Rock, because heck if Ric Flair can wrestle the same type of matches for years selling out arenas then why can't The Rock use the same catchphrases that made him popular? The crowd will continue to hang onto The Rock's every word. This is what makes the man special, the ability to get the crowd involved and have them listen to what you have to say. With that said, we all know that Rock could walk on Raw next Monday, sit in the middle of the ring, pull out a phone book, and read names out of it and people will go on wrestling forums and Facebook pages calling it one of the greatest promos of all time. While I am not a fan of what the Rock is currently cooking, I will admit that every time he comes on the TV I still want to see exactly what he is going to do or say. Maybe it's the 16 year old me waiting like it is still new or it could be the fact that even though most of his stuff in repetitive toilet humor, it is still better than the promos that a majority of the WWE roster cuts on a weekly basis. I also feel that WWE is better when he is around than when he isn't. I can see the Rock holding back a bit, I mean if no one else on the roster is gonna give 100% why should he, right? The only time that Rock should have to change what he does is when he comes out to the ring to no reaction at all. Which we know won't be happening anytime soon. Now these same folks who have been backing the Rock's promos have also been dissing the promos that CM has been putting out which I can't understand. Punk has been gold on the mic. All CM Punk has to do when he comes out there and is "I have been champion for xxx days" because that is all that really matters. Words can be manipulated, the numbers can't! Heyman holding that belt for him gets him even more heat, and Heyman rarely has to say a word. I am looking forward to the build up going into the Royal Rumble, and I hope to see some more good shit from both The Rock and CM Punk before they finally wrestle one another. The battle of words can sometimes be more exciting than the match itself. That's all for this week, and I do apologize for making you folks wait a bit this time. Been taking care of some personal business. As always you can follow me on Twitter @whosantcox or you can email me at invidwarriorz@gmail.com.

Follow us on Twitter @Kayfabe_Kickout, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling and like us on Facebook as well. To submit wrestling news email kayfabekickout2012@gmail.com.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page