top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Boudreau, Pro Wrestling Slam! Lead Editor

Interview With Jake "The Snake" Roberts, Former WWE & WCW Superstar

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Photo: WWE.com
Photo: WWE.com

Welcome back wrestling fans to another fabulous interview here on *Kayfabe Kickout. We had the immense pleasure to speak with one of the most iconic and legendary figures in professional wrestling, former WWE & WCW Superstar Jake "The Snake" Roberts. Jake has been in the industry since the mid 1970's when he started out as a referee and as a wrestler, working for some of the top promotions at that time such as Mid-South Wrestling, Georgia Championship Wrestling and Mid-Atlantic Championship Wrestling (Jim Crockett Promotions). Jake's career had taken off in early 1980's and he was soon paired up with some of the most well known and best workers in the business, and as part of Paul Ellering's Stable 'The Legion of Doom' Jake feuded with former NWA World Heavyweight Champion Ron Garvin. During Jake's stints in World Class Championship Wrestling and Mid-South Wrestling in the mid 1980's he had memorable feuds with the legendary Von Erich Family and Dick Slater. It was time for bigger and better things for Jake, and he made his way to Vince McMahon Jr's WWF, where he perfected his craft on the art of in-ring psychology. This was also when he introduced, a compliment to his persona and his nickname as "The Snake" because of his long slender body, a gigantic python aptly named "Damien." During his first run with the WWF Jake feuded with some of professional wrestling's greatest, and his first feud was with Ricky "The Dragon" Steamboat, which catapulted him as one of the top heels in the WWF at that time. In the coming years Jake feuded with such top WWF Superstars as The Undertaker, Randy "Macho Man" Savage, Andre The Giant, "Ravishing" Rick Rude, and "The Million Dollar" Man Ted Dibiase. After leaving the WWF in 1992 Jake had a short stint in Ted Turner's World Championship Wrestling, but in the short time he was with the promotion he feuded with WCW's rising star Sting, and became one of the promotions top superstars. After several years of wrestling in Mexico for AAA (Asistencia Asesoría y Administración) Jake returned to the WWF and garnered a new persona of a born again christian, who preached across the United States, but traces of "The Snake" Persona still stuck by Jake, as he carried a white albino python named "Revelations." Jake was an entrant in the 1996 WWF King of the Ring and he made it to the finals of the tournament. He then met up with an relative newcomer in the WWF named Steve Austin. Roberts lost the match, but he played an integral role in the creation of arguably the greatest superstar in professional wrestling "Stone Cold" Steve Austin, as Austin cut his infamous "Austin 3:16" Promo referencing Jake at the end of the match. After his departure from the WWF in 1997 Jake wrestled for Paul Heyman's Extreme Championship Wrestling in 1997 and 1998, where he aided Jerry "The King" Lawler in his win over Tommy Dreamer in the summer of 1997. Since then Jake has wrestled for various promotions all over the world, and today he is teaming up with former WCW Champion Diamond Dallas Page, and taking part in Page's DDP Yoga Exercise Program. I spoke with Jake on several aspects of professional wrestling, including his progress with DDP Yoga, his thoughts on "Stone Cold" Steve Austin, on his speculated in-ring comeback, Sting and so much more! Richard: So the number one question wrestling fans want to know is; How are you doing?

Jake: I have felt worse. Just can't remember when. That's not the truth. Truth is, 9am at the dentist with 4 teeth removed and had to have upper jawbone filed. Took a short break and rewarded myself by going to see a doctor who will be scheduling my shoulder surgery. You might say that stinks. But that's still a lot better than where I came from. And I'm still smiling. Richard: What was the one factor that made you decide you wanted to do DDP Yoga? Jake: I was at a point where I no longer had any hope at all. Synchronized swimming was my second choice. The real truth is I had no place to go but up and I was very fortunate to have a true friend reach out to me. Richard: Was it a transition for you to move in with Diamond Dallas Page at his home in Atlanta? Jake: No doubt. The dark place I was at mentally, the trouble I was in physically, and knowing deep inside that it was an all or nothing scenario meant this was my last chance if I was ever going to come out of the deep spiral I was in. Richard: In the early 1990's you worked for Asistencia Asesoría y Administración (AAA) can you share your thoughts on what it was like to work in Mexico? Jake: Dangerous and exciting. Thank God I had a bodyguard named Sherri Martel. I actually felt sorry for the people she attacked. I really miss her. Seriously, very confusing to work there. Richard: Your match with Steve Austin at the 1996 WWF King of the Ring catapulted him into the stratosphere and he became a household name in pro wrestling after that, what are your overall thoughts on Steve as a worker and as a superstar in professional wrestling? Jake: I love Steve very much and respect him. I believed in him before anybody else. He had been given a raw deal several times in other organizations but I was the first person to step up and say, "This is the guy!" I hate when I'm right. Richard: Do you think the WWE and TNA could benefit better by bringing back some of the old school aspects of ring psychology you were known for using both inside and outside of the ring? Jake: As far as inside the ring, it damn sure wouldn't hurt. The only question is who would understand it. And who would have the patience to do it? Richard: There are speculations around the professional wrestling world that part of the reason why you are involved with DDP Yoga is to make an in-ring comeback, can you comment on these speculations? Jake: Never say never. But that is not what I'm here for. What my dream may have been in the beginning pales in comparison to the dream that has become. I want to excel in what I'm doing and slay the beast that used to control my life. If Jake Roberts can do these things, bring myself back to health, conquer my demons, then I will become something much bigger than Jake Roberts ever was. That would be an example that you can win the war that you are battling. Richard: Do you ever envision yourself being inducted in the WWE Hall of Fame? Jake: I envision myself being sober today and anything else that comes along with that is gravy. It would certainly be an honor but it won't change my life if it doesn't happen. I love wrestling, second only to my sobriety. Richard: I'd like to get your thoughts on Randy Savage, what was it like working with him in the ring? Jake: It was never boring, another one sorely missed. Richard: There are many mixed opinions on whether or not Sting is indeed an "Icon" in professional wrestling, do you agree that Sting is an icon? Jake: What does it take? Wtf? Richard: So far you have lost over 40 lbs on DDP Yoga, do you have a specific target goal in terms of how much weight you would like to lose? Jake: I want to lose 750 pounds and then I, too, will be an icon. Just a tiny one. Actually, I've lost 60 pounds and my goal hasn't changed from above; being sober, healthy, and happy. Richard: I'd like to get your thoughts on Jerry Lawler, do you harbor any ill will towards him for the whiskey incident, or was it just another part of the business for you? Jake: There's a lot of things that some might choose to hold bad feelings about. I choose not to think about negative moments and certainly not waste time thinking about them. I wish Jerry the best. I have much more important things to deal with than the past, like my future. Richard: The general consensus of Vince McMahon is he is a visionary who brought professional wrestling to the forefront of mainstream media, what are your thoughts on Vince? Jake: Smartest man ever to own a wrestling company. Did more for wrestling than Moses. Richard: Does having a support system around you make a difference? Jake: In every way. Chances are if you surround yourself with pigs, you'll smell like one. Richard: How can wrestling fans follow your progress? Jake: I'm on YouTube at JakeSnakeDDT and on twitter now as we'll as @JakeSnakeDDT. I'm also on Facebook. I am also available for wrestling appearances, signings, my specialized wrestling workshops and speaking. Contact: marlon@thebelieveitllc.com. Just like Jake says wrestling fans can follow him on Twitter, on Facebook, check out his Official YouTube Channel and fans can check out Jake's Official Website as well. I want to personally thank Jake for taking the time to speak with me here on *Kayfabe Kickout.

*Kayfabe Kickout (2012 - 2020) has since rebranded in July, 2020 and is now known as 'Pro Wrestling Slam!'

Follow us on Twitter @PW_Slam, to get the latest news in the world of professional wrestling, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our Official YouTube Channel and follow us on Instagram. To submit wrestling news email prowrestlingslam2012@gmail.com and be sure to check out our Official Pro Wrestling Tees Store to pick up some Pro Wrestling Slam! Merchandise, also be sure to listen to the Pro Wrestling Slam! Podcast on Anchor.fm.


22 views0 comments
bottom of page